Monday’s Takeaway

Ever have one of those days where shit just piles on? On a Monday no less? I know you have, we all have.  I started this post out of anger and disappointment, but it quickly (thankfully) morphed into something else entirely. I was faced with a recent disappointment and I had to decide if I was going to play the victim card, or take a good, hard look at what I could improve on my end.

The amount of privilege I was pouring into an “I didn’t get noticed for my hard work” moment was making me sick to my stomach. It was a wake-up call that I have so much work to do when it comes to my attitude of entitlement. Let’s say I am working as hard as I can in my area of “expertise,” it still does not give me any right to expect things to fall magically into my lap.

I need to get over it and lend my support to those in my field who are getting noticed for all their hard work. One thing I keep learning is that the world is big enough for lots of successful people. My own story is not going to suffer from supporting a fellow comrade, and it especially won’t suffer by my getting over myself. Rather than spend energy on being upset, I’m going to work harder, be nicer, and keep my head down.

 

Leave a Reply

