Sunday Funday

The last few days have been pretty stressful. Our puppy has been sick and we spent a lot of time (and money) at the vet. Fortunately, our baby pup is on the mend, but I’m still feeling the effects of very little sleep and lots of stress.

Still, I woke up this morning and did a short recovery workout:

  • 10x :30 sprint :30 rest on the row erg
  • 3×10 Press w/ 5lb Clubbells
  • 3×10 Clubbell Swing
  • 3×10 Clubbell Mill
  • 10 min. Sword Work

As cool as the “sword work” portion of this workout might sound, it was more of me in my backyard swinging my sword in different patterns to get used to moving my wrists. I didn’t grow up playing with lightsabers or LARPing – I wish I had, because I’m stiff when I fight. I grip my sword too tightly and I tend to choke up which makes my strikes predictable. This is something I’m working hard to correct.

I’m falling in love with my clubbells again. They are great for working motor control and patterns that are similar to what I’ve experienced in Armored Combat. The last year I pushed my endurance, now I’ve got to push my upper body to handle the weight of my armor plus force.

The rest of the day was spent meal prepping the shit out of this week and watching the Closing Ceremonies. Not how I wanted to spend my weekend, but trying to make the best of it.

 

Leave a Reply

