Practice Makes Better – Perfect is Boring

The phrase “Practice makes perfect” has been on my mind a lot. I really hate it.

As I work on finding myself, I’m learning that practice is just that – something we do to better ourselves and our habits. Perfection is unattainable, and I’m sick of listening to those insidious voices that tell me I must reach perfection before my work counts for something.

Last night at our weekly Armored Combat workout, I was talking with a potential new teammate about this very concept. We all have something to work on, be it strength endurance, cardio engine, mental hurdles, skill work, etc. We will ALWAYS be working on something in this sport. It’s the nature of playing sports. However, this doesn’t mean that we’re the weak link on the team.

Why do I believe this? Because acknowledging your weaknesses takes strength. Admitting to yourself (and to others) that you struggle takes courage.

You know what fighters need in order to succeed?

Strength and courage.

Sometimes showing up with your weakness in tow is a bigger act of courage than being the best on the field. Telling those vampires to “take a seat” while you muster up the strength to try and fail, then try and fail some more – that’s what it’s all about.

To put it in nerdy terms: Frodo didn’t get to Mordor alone. He had a bunch of badass fighters and hobbits by his side. You know why he had them by his side? Because he was 1) brave enough to face his fears, and 2) he asked for help. frodo gif

In my opinion, the world doesn’t need more perfect people. It needs more vulnerable people who are willing to come alongside one another and say, “I see you. I struggle too.” Let’s build a community of imperfect fighters – of flawed people who come together to build one another up, offering a helping hand both on and off the field.

***September 7-13th marks National Suicide Prevention Week. If you ever feel like you’re walking alone and it gets to be too much, know that you can talk to me. I see you: hannah.wilmarth@gmail.com. The number to the National Suicide Hotline is: 1-800-273-8255. There are people to walk though this with you.

Leave a Reply

