The BodPod: Not Your Average Escape Pod

Yesterday I went in for another BodPod test. It’s a machine that closely resembles an escape pod any sci-fi movie of your choice (I forgot to take a picture of the pod itself!), and works by measuring your volume and weight in contrast to the air inside the pod. Giving extremely fast and accurate readings, the BodPod is my new favorite way to measure my body fat percentage.

I schedule an appointment every three months – long enough to see change, but not long enough to forget about the appointment. The entire process runs about 30 minutes and costs $35 (I’m sure the price and time varies for location).

Why do I do this? I think it’s important to know where you’re starting from and see your progress throughout the year. Numbers motivate me, but not in the traditional sense. I don’t own a scale, and I make it point to never base my goals off of my weight. My weight is the most inaccurate way to measure my progress. As a PCOS girl and a weightlifter, my weight fluctuates easily. Gaining muscle, added stress, traveling, competitions – all of these things cause my weight to fluctuate a few pounds each month. That’s not what I’m worried about.

A few of the measurements I glean from the BodPod.
A few of the measurements I glean from the BodPod.

I measure my progress by my body fat percentages (which, yes, is influenced by my weight), but I find that these numbers are more practical and directly impact my health. I want more muscle (which weighs more than fat), I don’t want unhealthy fat surrounding my belly and internal organs. So you can see why I don’t care for the scale. It’s a fine number to know, but I’d rather be focusing on success that I can more accurately measure. As I mentioned on my IG feed, my current goal is to drop approximately 6.5% body fat in 9 weeks. I’ve done it before, I can do it again with focus and determination!

How do you measure your progress? I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

