New Year’s Resolve

As we rise on the first day of 2015, most of us will sit down and make some sort of resolution – a promise to ourselves that we will better our resolve and reach our goals for 2015.

Merriam-Webster defines resolve as: “to make a definite and serious decision to do something.” While most of us participate in making New Year’s Resolutions, only some of us will see them through once the newness has worn off. If you’d like to have a bit more resolve this year, read on for some suggestions on honing in on your goals and creating a game plan that keeps you going throughout the year!

Set S.M.A.R.T. Goals

Maybe you’ve heard of S.M.A.R.T. Goals before, but haven’t incorporated them into your resolutions. Maybe you’re still wondering what it stands for. The short version is:

S – Specific
M – Measurable
A – Attainable
R – Relevant
T – Timely
(I misspelled “smart” while typing this. So there’s that to brighten your day.)

highly recommend sitting down and physically writing out your main goals. On paper. I know, archaic. It’s my belief that when you write down your goals, something deep in your subconscious takes hold. They steep, age, then emerge – refined by time. It will also be beneficial when you look back on your list at goals you’ve accomplished.

Create Diverse Goals

For those of us with PCOS, weight can be a huge burdon on our physical and mental state, making it a high priority to lose. Rather than simply focus on losing weight, try setting goals that have nothing to do with your appearance. So often we get wrapped up in what the media tells us we should look like, we forget that our bodies are carefully crafted to give us the best vessel possible for living life.

If you lift, set some PR goals. If you run, train for a new race that puts your outside your comfort zone. Teach yourself to draw using YouTube tutorials. Your options are limitless, so long as you are being thoughtful about the time and resources that go in to each endeavor.

By all means, be healthier – but don’t let your waist size be the sole indicator of your lifestyle changes.

Don’t Try to Change All at Once

The biggest mistake I’ve made when trying to instate new habits has been trying to change everything all at once.

You know what I mean.

Prepping meals, joining a gym, cutting out all sugar, starting a journal, reading a book a week. *Yes, those are ALL examples of my previous resolution lists.*

Pick one thing. Just one. Give yourself a month, two months, the whole year if you need. Work on that one thing until you don’t even have to think about it. Then, begin to add to that habit by choosing the next little thing to work towards. Habit is the culmination of small, repetitious activities that produce huge results.

For years I’ve trained myself to move every day. I was never active growing up, which contributed to my PCOS in later years. Being overweight and unhappy, I made the small commitment to move my body for 30 minutes each day. Now, moving throughout my day is second nature. I’m involved in sports that take incredible physical strength and endurance each day – and I would never have even tried these things had it not been for that small, consistent step towards change.

Now What?

I always recommend writing your goals down. Here’s how I attack my New Year Plans:

What will you do with your time?
What will you do with your time?

Year Goals:
– What will I have checked off my list in 2015? What new habits will I have created?
6 Month Goals:
– What milestones (measurable) will I have reached in pursuit of my 2015 year-long goals?
3 month Goals:
– What steps have I consistently taken towards my goals? This is often my time to reevaluate what’s working and what’s not.
1 Month Goals:
– My small goals that, when done consistently, will add up over the months. I try to set new, small goals each month to keep my focus.
Weekly Goals:
– More like a to-do list with the big picture in the back of my mind.

What are your goals? Where will your resolve take you in 2015? I hope that we find our bliss this year and always.

Leave a Reply

