Thoughts on Brussels Sprouts (and a Recipe!)

Brussels sprouts used to be the bane of my existence. My mother would make me try some every time she cooked them just to see if I’d changed my mind. I’m pretty sure no one but my mom actually enjoyed these hard, green, death veggies yet they still ended up on our plates every so often, and eventually my mother gave up on trying to make me eat my greens.

I’ve tried various diets, eating plans, going strict paleo, becoming a vegetarian, the list goes on – and I’ve come to realize that it’s less about the plan and more about the consistency. Eat good (real) food, and don’t get crazy. While attempting to “not get crazy” while eating healthy, I made an important discovery: I love Brussels sprouts.

I love them roasted, boiled, or soaked in a delicious sauce that my grandmother makes. Which is great for me, because the lower Glycemic Index foods I consume, the better my PCOS responds. The University of Sydney’s website defines GI as:

The glycemic index (GI) is a ranking of carbohydrates on a scale from 0 to 100 according to the extent to which they raise blood sugar levels after eating. Foods with a high GI are those which are rapidly digested and absorbed and result in marked fluctuations in blood sugar levels. Low-GI foods, by virtue of their slow digestion and absorption, produce gradual rises in blood sugar and insulin levels, and have proven benefits for health. Low GI diets have been shown to improve both glucose and lipid levels in people with diabetes (type 1 and type 2). They have benefits for weight control because they help control appetite and delay hunger. Low GI diets also reduce insulin levels and insulin resistance.” ¹

Since I try my best to eat two meals a day comprising of low GI foods, Brussels sprouts appear more often on my daily plate. I thought I’d share one of my new favorite recipes, courtesy of my dad’s inventive cooking style, for you to enjoy as well (I promise this isn’t turning into a food blog)!

IMG_20140616_150349_965
Carl’s Brussels Sprouts Hash

Carl’s Brussels Sprouts Hash

– 20-ish washed and chopped Brussels sprouts (I pulse mine in my blender)

– 1/2 cup to 1 cup of White Wine vinegar

– Crushed red pepper to taste (I used 1/4 tsp.)

– Paprika to taste

– Salt and pepper to taste

– 3-4 cloves of garlic minced

– Extra Virgin Olive Oil or sub Coconut Oil

Heat your oil in a stove top pan and add your chopped sprouts in, letting them begin to cook. Add in the minced garlic, Salt, and pepper – stir. Mix the white wine vinegar, Crushed Red Pepper, and Paprika together in a bowl. When the sprouts have begun to cook through, add the vinegar mixture to the pan and cover the dish until the sauce reduces and the sprouts are tender.

I feel like this dish would benefit from personal additions like bacon, mushrooms, yellow onions, etc. Basically, this is a good base dish to get creative with or just enjoy on its own! Let me know what you think. Do you have any Brussels sprout recipes that you love? Please, share!

¹Brand-Miller, Jennie. “About Glycemic Index”. Glycemic Index. University of Sydney, 2011. Web. 18 June. 2014. http://www.glycemicindex.com/about.php

 

 

Leave a Reply

